RSS

Daily Archives: June 17, 2011

May’s Good Things

1 – Finally begun ordering hard copies of photos from Snapfish. Novemeber and December done = 342 prints!

2 – Bank Holiday! We had a nice breakfast, walked to a nearby nature reserve, had brie for dinner, and Simon rolled from his back to his belly!

3 – Organized Simon’s dresser (which made me super happy) and Simon showed off for Grandma on Skype and rolled from back to belly.

4 – CK brought home special treats for me: ice cream and Coke!

5 – My 342 photos from Snapfish arrived! I spent a bit of time in my office organizing shelves and hanging pictures.

6 – CK brought me pretty flowers home AND fish and chips!

7 – Simon gave me some candy in honor of US Mother’s Day, we painted the living room purple, and it rained!

8 – US Mother’s Day and CK showered me with peacock gifts. Hung things on our purple walls and CK’s cousin came to visit for the afternoon.

9 – Mother’s Day card arrived from my mom with some scrapbooking supplies and I decided to complete a photo edit challenge a blog I read hosted (which I later won!!).

10 – Had time to create a scrapbook page after CK came home from work and totally destroyed my tidy office (it was well worth it).  We enjoyed tacos for dinner.

11 – I took a delicious afternoon nap with my boy and after CK came home from work, I scrapped a page.

12 – CK brought me ice cream home.

13 – Went into campus to have lunch with CK and afterwards had a little photo shoot in the garden (which yielded lots of nice shots!) AND he left work and came home with us!

14 – Took a train into nearby Wokingham where we had wonderful sandwiches (mine was bacon and brie!). I went to the charity shops, had a nice rose cupcake, and we ended the afternoon with hot chocolate.

15 – Went to Pret a Manger for the first time after church where we had delicious sandwiches and Simon sat in a high chair for the first time (though he didn’t eat anything).

16 – It must’ve been a slow day because the good thing I have written down in my date book is, “Felt good about cooking dinner.” Ha!

17 – I found out I won the photo edit contest, CK brought me a Snickers ice cream bar home, and he put Simon to bed all by himself.

18 – Another ice cream treat and another night of Daddy putting Simon to bed.

19 – I spoke with my friend Sharon and asked her and her husband to be Simon’s godparents as CK and I decided to have him baptised when we go home.

20 – CK took the morning off and we went to Woodley to take care of some banking business. We had THE BEST experience at HSBC (we’re still kicking ourselves we didn’t start out banking with them when we arrived) and had THE BEST lunch at Gregg’s (bacon + cheese twist and a fresh cream apple danish).

21 – Simon turned 6 months and we celebrated by introducing him to food. He “ate” an apple on Skype and my mom got to be part of the experience, too!

22 – We went to a couple’s home for lunch after church. Lunch was delicious, the company was great, and we were sent home with beautiful peonies and roses from their garden.

23 – CK brought me a Coke and an ice cream bar (this has been a very indulgent month).

24 – Bob Dylan’s Birthday! Simon fell asleep on my lap as I watched Bob videos on YouTube.

25 – Simon began to smile every time I sang “You Are My Sunshine” and just when I thought I was finished with Glee, they sand “For Good” and I cried and cried.

26 – Simon took a 3 hour nap in my arms. So sweet.

27 – I put Simon in the Sleepy Wrap and walked around reading to him from my Flannery O’Connor biography. And, I saw a tooth bud.

28 – Went to a National Trust property, The Vyne, where we got in for free! We enjoyed nice cake in their cafe and a nice, cool walk through the woods. On our way home, we stopped in Sainsbury’s (a grocery store) where we unexpectedly found the perfect little outfit for Simon to wear for his dedication.

29 – Simon’s dedication. It was perfect and lovely and the three couples who mean the most to us were there and all involved in some way. They had even gone through the trouble of making a special surprise cake for us.

30 – Bank Holiday! We spent the day in town where I was trying to find something to wear (fail). Instead, I bought CK a Father’s Day present!! We had a wonderful lunch at the Forbury Hotel and a fabulous piece of cheesecake and delicious hot chocolate at a great coffee shop that somehow manages to stay in business even though it shares a corner with both Starbucks and Costa.

31 – Went to Woodley and had another pleasant banking experience. Got Green & Black chocolates on sale at Waitrose.